The Allerton 39th Street House, 145 East 39th Street, Manhattan, New York, Built 1916-1918; Arthur Loomis Harmon architect.
Constructed in 1916-18 by architect Arthur Loomis Harmon, the Allerton House at 145 East 39th Street provided a unique housing opportunity for the burgeoning ranks of young, middle class, single men and women in the early 20th century.
The Allerton was large enough to provide low rental prices and personal freedoms to residents, yet small enough to encourage community spirit, without any religious associations such as those imposed by organizations like the Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) or the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA), which offered similar residential accommodations.
Between 1913 and 1924, six Allerton Houses were built in New York City. All of the facilities were designed for men and intended for semi-permanent guests, with the exception of the hotel at 128-30 East 57th Street, which was specifically designed for women.
The Italian Renaissance-style building at 145 East 39th Street is constructed primarily of red brick with projecting headers, which ascend to a central hipped roof tower. The base of the building is clad in granite and its main façade is structured around three bays of windows. At the roof garden level, there are three arched openings separated by twin terra cotta columns Arthur Loomis Harmon (1878-1958) graduated from Columbia University School of Architecture in 1901. He then worked as a designer for McKim, Mead & White from 1902 to 1911. In 1913, Harmon became a partner with the architectural firm of Shreve & Lamb, which later went on to design the Empire State Building. Harmon was also the design and construction consultant for Parkchester, Stuyvesant Town and Peter Cooper Village.
In 1956, the Salvation Army converted the building to the Ten Eyck-Troughton Memorial Residence for Women. It remained in use by the Salvation Army until very recently.
And this building should be designated a landmark before all of the significant historical and architectural sites in Queens because...?